Category: GCHERA World Agriculture Prize

Call for Nominations for the GCHERA Laureates 2018

The call is open for nominations for the GCHERA Laureates 2018.  In 2018 there will be two GCHERA World Agriculture Prizes awarded, each of 100,000 USD.  At least one prize will be awarded to a person from a country which is NOT listed as a country with a developed economy. Deadline for submitting nominations is

2017 GCHERA World Agriculture Prize Laureate’s presentation

With special thanks to Dr. Dirk Inzé, we are pleased to share his presentation “From Basic Research to Crop Improvement,” (powerpoint for a quick review) and the video of his lecture (to see the full presentation, 33 minutes). The lecture was delivered October 28, 2017 at Nanjing Agricultural University, when Dr. Inzé received the 2017

GCHERA Laureate 2017 Award Ceremony

Professor Dirk INZÉ, Director  of the VIB – Ghent University Center for Plant Systems Biology, Belgium, was awarded the ‘2017 GCHERA World Agriculture Prize (WAP)’ at a ceremony at Nanjing Agricultural University on Saturday 28 October. Professor Dirk INZÉ becomes the 5th GCHERA Laureate. This award recognizes Dirk INZÉ’s exceptional and significant life time achievements

Call for Nominations for the GCHERA Laureate 2017

Deadline for nominations 17.00 GMT 26 April 2017 The Prize aims to encourage the global development of the mission of higher education institutions in education, research and innovation in the agricultural and life sciences by recognizing the distinguished contribution of an individual to this mission.  The prize is generously sponsored by the Education Development Foundation

GCHERA Laureate 2016 Award Ceremony

Professor Dr Lorne BABIUK of the University of Alberta was awarded the GCHERA World Agriculture Prize on 18 October during the opening ceremony of the RUFORUM Biennial Conference in Cape Town, South Africa.  Professor BABIUK becomes the 4th GCHERA Laureate.  The award recognizes Professor BABIUK’s lifetime contributions as a renowned virologist, acclaimed for his international leadership in vaccine